Once your lifecycle is live and in production, it's important to know how to safely edit and make changes to it.

You can tell that a lifecycle is in production by the green panel inside the project and the green blinking light. From here you can edit your lifecycle.

Edit lifecycle
Edit lifecycle

✍️ Modify Entry Conditions

As the name suggests, here you can make changes to the lifecycle entry conditions. This includes;

  • Version % split

  • Firing Conditions

  • Trigger

  • Segment

Simply make the necessary changes and update the configuration.

Example: Version 1 of our lifecycle is live and in production. We have created a second version with an alternative player engagement.

We want to A/B test Version 1 and Version 2 with a 50% split.

We can follow these steps to safely update the entry conditions without disturbing the version that is already in production;

  1. Select edit and modify entry conditions from the green panel

  2. Select new version and make sure the % split is correct

  3. Preview the trigger and segment to make sure it is still correct

  4. Update configuration

Modify entry conditions
Modify entry conditions

✋ Stop Players from Entering Lifecycle

Stop any new players from entering your lifecycle but allow the events/activities to continue for those players already inside the lifecycle.

Example: We have been running a reactivation campaign for some time in an attempt to bring lost players back to the site.

We want to stop the lifecycle so that new players cannot enter and for existing players inside the lifecycle to continue their journey. This way we can analyse the data and see how effective our campaign has been.

We can follow these steps to partially stop the lifecycle;

  1. Select Edit and Stop players from entering lifecycle from the green panel

  2. Confirm

Stop players from entering lifecycle
Stop players from entering lifecycle

The panel inside the lifecycle project is now yellow, to let us know that the lifecycle is partially stopped. We can see a yellow blinking light, visible from the lifecycle overview page.

Partially stopped lifecycle
Partially stopped lifecycle

Note: From here you can relaunch the lifecycle by following the confirmation steps or to completely stop the lifecycle and its activities.

🔌 Disable Lifecycle & All Activities

Stop a live lifecycle from receiving any more players and disable all events/activities inside the project.

Tip: Only stop a version from running when you don't want to use it anymore or stop using it for the time being. If you want to amend the set-up or split with another version, use Modify instead so that your lifecycle doesn't get interrupted.

We can follow these steps to completely stop the lifecycle;

  1. Select Edit and Disable lifecycle and all activities from the green panel

  2. Confirm you wish to Stop Lifecycle

  3. The version is automatically moved back to Ready status

Disable lifecycle and all activities
Disable lifecycle and all activities

The panel inside the lifecycle project is now red, to let us know that the lifecycle is stopped.

Completely stopped
Completely stopped

Note: After you have partially or completely stopped a lifecycle, it may take a couple of minutes to synchronise with the service that manages the activities.

This means that it may take a minute for the lifecycle to be stopped.